The new Special Economic Zone (SEZ) Program was mandated by the SEZ Act, proclaimed in February 9, 2016. SEZs are to help promote industrial agglomeration, build the required industrial infrastructure and guide the deployment of other necessary development tools.
The Special Economic Zones were developed with the aim to increase industrial growth. There are currently five operating IDZs in South Africa, namely:

  • Coega IDZ: It was designated in 2001 and became South Africas first Industrial Development Zone. The IDZ has attracted investment in the agro-processing, automotive, aquaculture, energy, metals logistics and business process services sectors.
  • Richards Bay Industrial Development Zone (RBIDZ): it is a purpose built industrial estate on the North-Eastern South African coast. The N2 business corridor links the Province’s two major ports, Durban and Richards Bay, and connects with Maputo in Mozambique.
  • East London IDZ : Established in 2003, the zone offers growth oriented companies a specialised manufacturing platform, innovative industrial and business solutions access to new markets and strategic industry networks.
  • Saldanha Bay IDZ: It is envisioned that this newly established IDZ will serve as the primary oil, gas and Marine Repair engineering and logistics services complex in Africa. The SBIDZ will include logistics, repairs and maintenance, and fabrication activities.
  • Dube Trade Port: . Located 30km north of Durban, Dube Trade Port is positioned between the two big seaports in Southern Africa, and linked to the rest of Africa by road and rail.